Winter Military Reporting for Duty!

Hey there,

I felt it had been a while since doing my last fashion blog post, therefore this one is way overdue! One day I decided to have a root in Oxfam in which I stumbled across a Zara military style jacket, I decided to try it on and I was actually amazed how much tailoring can change your silhouette and for £7.99 how could I let it go!

IMG_1237Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The military trend is huge right now, when wearing military style tailoring it gives of some sort of female authority throughout an original masculine trend. The blazer style jacket i’m wearing has two stitches either side of the waist area making it a perfect way to give the illusion of a smaller waist! It is reasonably long line and has a pleat at the back to allow movement with an extra royal-esque type of feel. The detailing of the trimming is the statement of this jacket, the gold buttons and cuff trims make this piece the classic it is.

IMG_1165Processed with VSCO with c1 presetWhen thinking of how to style the jacket I was ready to go full on nautical/ army service style haha! Therefore I wore with a red and white striped long sleeved tee, I feel the red lifted the dark colour of the jacket, wearing with a leather skirt gave another texture to the look and also removed it from being too uniformed.

Star prints are my favourite, they are just so sparkly and celestial, so once again I “stumbled” into H&M and saw a leather skirt with star embroidery and zip detailing,  it was magical and meant to be. To tie in the red I wore my red suede ‘Noel booties’ that ‘Just Fab’ kindly sent to me! Personally I am a huge loafer fan and when I saw these boots that were half boot half loafer I was made up! The boots take huge influences on Gucci through the gold buckle detailing however for a lot less pennies:)

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetI am a huge fan of my bakerboy/ Lennon  hat, it just induces a bit of 60’s style and is great when your hair needs to be tamed! While in H&M I picked up a Brixton inspired baker boy, with a leather peak and rope detailing across the front. I almost fainted when I got to the till and found out it had gone down to one English pound, I’m alright at this bargain hunting malarkey!

IMG_1208IMG_1198

Fashion aside, Uni deadlines are coming thick and fast, the dissertation planning is underway. My dissertation is going be on the ‘thin ideals’ that are portrayed in male fashion magazines, I will be focussing on whether male fashion magazines do attempt to portray an ideal image of a male body. I decided this as there is so much coverage in the media of how body image is affected by female models in the fashion industry, leading to body image and self esteem issues, however what about the guys? It can affect them also!

IMG_1048IMG_1046

Jacket – Charity Shop (similar here) // Top – H&M (click here) // Skirt – H&M (click here) // Boots – Just fab (click here) // Bakerboy Hat – H&M (sold out)  (similar here) 

I’m still doing some music reviewing on the side, which is something that I find quite relaxing to write about. If it is a certain band, single, album… I make myself a coffee, sit down and play it through my speakers so I can really figure it out and begin to get inspiration to write about it. It’s starting to feel all festive and cute recently however I’m still not saying the ‘C’ word, let’s get to December first!

See you soon!

Steph x

Leave a comment